Post Format

Korean Pear and Beef Salad

Leave a Reply

I’ve decided: I definitely do not like Mac n Cheese. I like cheese (some of them), I like pasta, I also like butter. But I don’t like Mac n Cheese. Don’t know why, and can’t change my mind. Sorry, America, I still think your food is gross.

korean pear and beef salad

On another note, have been dying to try this Pear and Beef Salad recipe , and finally got my hand on nuts: pine nuts and chestnut. EXPENSIVE LIKE A MOTHER…! But so delicious! I’m eh~ about chestnut – Japanese people are crazy about water chestnut, and I felt apologetic every time I saw that little yellow nut thing in my green tea parfait cup. I found that the recipe could still be very good without the chestnut, so if you don’t like it, skip it! Don’t skip pine nuts though – it’s SO, SO good: nutty, crunchy but not too much, and tiny. It provides the crunch that all salads need (the cooked chestnuts were soft), and it can be a fabulous snack all by itself.

Pear and Beef Salad

Adapted from recipe in The Korean Kitchen, by Young Jin Song

I doubled the amount of vinegar and garlic and reduced the sugar (since the pear was plenty sweet), used only sesame oil (the recipe calls for vegetable oil for sauteing the beef), and instead of salt I used all soy sauce – the Chinese kind (Maggi!). You should definitely taste the marinade and/or the pear pickling water before deciding on how sour/salty you want it to be. 

1 steak, thinly sliced

1 Korean pear (*nothing wrong with other pears, this pear is just so much better)

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 tbs sesame oil

1 tsp sugar

2 tbs rice vinegar

2 tbs pine nuts

5 cooked chestnuts, chopped

2 tbs soy sauce

Step 1

Marinade the steak in soy sauce, garlic and sesame oil for 20 minutes.

Step 2

While the steak is marinating, Peel, core, slice the pear, either in thin slices or thin strips. Place in a bowl and cover with cold water. Season the water with vinegar and sugar, let stand for 10 minutes, then drain and leave in bowl. Put in the chopped chestnuts and pine nuts.

Step 3

Saute the beef with its marinade to desired doneness. Transfer to the pear & nuts bowl, toss and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

